Presidential Proclamation Ends Discrimination of certain Foreign Nationals

Did you apply before January 2021 for an immigrant Visa? Was it rejected because you are a national of one of the group of countries that were banned during Trump’s administration? If so, you can now reapply with a waiver or ask the embassy to reconsider your prior application.

On January 20, 2021, President Biden signed a Presidential Proclamation “Ending discriminatory bans on entry to the United States” of nationals from: Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Venezuela, and Yemen. This Proclamation allows certain persons, whose visas were denied, to reapply.

Nonimmigrant visa applicants, who were likewise denied, will need to submit a new visa application (DS-160) and pay a new visa application processing fee if they wish to reapply for a visa.

The State Department will pursue processing applicants from those countries, without regard to earlier discriminatory bans, consistent with applicable law and visa processing procedures.

For more information schedule a consultation with us or call us to 202 296 1111.

By Rosa Hernandez